In this assignment, you will be exploring actual and potential health problems in the childhood years using a functional health assessment and Erickson’s Stages of Child Development. To complete this assignment, do the following: 1.Using the textbook, complete the “Children’s Functional Health Pattern Assessment.” Follow the instructions in the resource for completing the assignment. 2.Cite and reference any outside sources used in your answers. Include in your assessment a thorough discussion of Erickson’s Stages of Child Development as it pertains to the development age of the child.  While APA format is not required for the body of this assignment, solid academic writing is expected and in-text citations and references should be presented using APA documentation guidelines, which can be found in the APA Style Guide, located in the Student Success Center.  This assignment uses a rubric. Please review the rubric prior to beginning the assignment to become familiar with the expectations for successful completion.  You are not required to submit this assignment to Turnitin. NRS-434VN-R-Childrens-functional-health-pattern-assessment-Student.docx Purchase the answer to view it


Childhood is a crucial period in a person’s life where physical, cognitive, and social development occurs rapidly. It is important to assess the functional health patterns of children to identify any actual or potential health problems and ensure their holistic well-being. This assessment will utilize the “Children’s Functional Health Pattern Assessment” provided in the textbook, as well as incorporate Erik Erikson’s Stages of Child Development to analyze the development age of the child.

Children’s Functional Health Pattern Assessment

The Children’s Functional Health Pattern Assessment is a comprehensive framework that examines various aspects of a child’s health and development. It consists of eleven health patterns, including health perception/health management, nutritional/metabolic, elimination, activity/exercise, sleep/rest, cognitive/perceptual, self-perception/self-concept, role/relationship, sex/gender, coping/stress tolerance, and value/belief patterns. Each pattern evaluates different aspects of a child’s well-being and allows for a comprehensive assessment of their health status.

Erikson’s Stages of Child Development

Erik Erikson, a renowned psychologist, proposed a theory of psychosocial development that encompasses eight stages, with each stage representing a specific age range and highlighting the developmental tasks that individuals must accomplish to progress successfully. This theory emphasizes the importance of social interactions and the resolution of conflicts at each stage, which influence a person’s overall psychological and social well-being.

Infancy (birth to 18 months)

During this stage, infants develop trust or mistrust. The primary task is to establish a sense of trust in the world and others. Infants develop trust through consistent care and responsiveness from their primary caregivers. If their needs are consistently met, they develop a sense of trust and security. However, inconsistent or neglectful care may result in mistrust and anxiety.

Early Childhood (2 to 3 years)

The primary task during this stage is to develop autonomy or shame and doubt. Children at this age begin to assert their independence by making choices and taking actions. This stage is marked by greater motor skills and language development. If children are encouraged and supported in their independence, they develop a sense of autonomy. However, if parents are overly restrictive or critical, children may develop doubts about their abilities and become excessively dependent on others.

Preschool (3 to 5 years)

During the preschool stage, children aim to develop initiative or guilt. This stage is characterized by exploratory behavior and an increasing interest in social interactions. Children develop a sense of initiative by actively engaging in play, using their imagination, and exploring their environment. If they are discouraged or made to feel guilty about their curiosity and creativity, they may develop a sense of guilt and hesitancy to take risks.

School Age (6 to 11 years)

The primary task during this stage is to develop industry or inferiority. Children at this age become more focused on their accomplishments and competence. They develop a sense of industry by successfully completing tasks, academic goals, and social interactions. However, if they experience frequent failures or negative feedback, they may develop feelings of inferiority and low self-esteem.

Adolescence (12 to 18 years)

During adolescence, individuals strive to develop identity or role confusion. This stage is marked by self-exploration, identity formation, and establishing a sense of self. Adolescents develop a clear identity by exploring different roles and values and integrating them into a cohesive sense of self. However, if they are unable to establish a stable identity, they may experience confusion and have difficulty finding their place in society.

Discussion and Conclusion

By utilizing the Children’s Functional Health Pattern Assessment and incorporating Erikson’s Stages of Child Development, healthcare providers can gain a comprehensive understanding of a child’s health and developmental progress. This holistic assessment allows for early identification of any actual or potential health problems, ensuring timely interventions and comprehensive care. Understanding the specific developmental tasks associated with each age range can guide healthcare providers in supporting children’s growth and well-being, promoting successful progression through each stage of development.